Why atypical and high functioning go so long undiagnosed. 

I’ve been doing a lot of reading on ASD. I’ve read websites, blogs and forums and I understand why kids like W go years undiagnosed. 

All the websites I’ve read describe the “typical ” autistic behavior. They list stims (i had to Google what that meant. It’s self stimulating. Which everyone does to some degree. ) like rocking and arm flapping.  These sites list the more obvious characteristics of autism.               That is the very reason why I didn’t think that W was on the spectrum earlier. He doesn’t fit the typical ASD characteristics. 

I’ve read it a lot lately in blogs and forums, kids just like mine who are delayed in a few things  (mostly verbal skills ) but don’t fit the description on the websites and those parents have been told the same thing I’ve heard. “Don’t worry, s/he’ll grow out of it, every kid develops at their own pace”. But time goes on and they don’t necessarily grow out of it. 

These kids are high functioning or atypical, but they almost always end up with a diagnosis of autism or aspergers. 

The more I learn about ASD the more I’m confused but the more I start to understand W’s quirks. I’ve realized one of his stims is running which is why he hates being in the stroller or shopping cart. 

ASD is confusing and literally no two people are the same. And yes it can be frustrating but it can also be a beautiful experience. Learning how to better relate to a loved one on the spectrum forces you to look at the world around you in a whole new way. It’s like looking at the world through a kaleidoscope, confusing but beautiful. 

Leave a Reply

