The beginning 

Our son W is 2 1/2 yr old. At the beginning of the year i was concerned about his lack of talking. Family members kept telling me it’s normal for boys to be behind in talking and that W would catch up.

Fast forward 6 months. He knows a lot of words, babbles a lot and loves to sing but he doesn’t communicate at all. He doesn’t point, he doesn’t call out for myself or my husband when he’s upset.

His diet has become terrible. I can literally list the foods he’ll eat on one hand and if you try to offer him something new he will lose his mind.

Until recently I wanted to believe he was just quirky and would grow out of it. However, a few days ago we were talking with my sister-in-law and she suggested we get him checked. See W’s cousin has been diagnosed with aspergers and he was very similar to W when he was a child.

So now I’m waiting to see the pedestrian to get the ball rolling. In the meantime I have cried a lot over the last few days. That may be mostly due to pregnancy hormones  (I’m 29 weeks pregnant with our 2nd ). My husband keeps telling me that we will get through this and that with therapy W will likely be just like any other boy. He’s probably right;  W is for the most part a very happy little boy, just a little more challenging then most kids his age. But it doesn’t stop the whirlwind of emotions that I am experiencing. I

I think my biggest fear is that I will never hear W say “I love you mommy “.

Leave a Reply

